Contacts

Contact Us

Contact Form:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Details:

QIBA Secretary
Janet Stockel
PO BOX 1131
Caloundra QLD 4551

0429 913 186
secretary@qiba.com.au

President: Kyle French president@qiba.com.au 
kyle.french82@gmail.com
Assistant Secretary: Vacant assistantsecretary@qiba.com.au
Treasurer: Ros Richter

treasurer@qiba.com.au

Senior Vice: Don Smith seniorvice@qiba.com.au
Junior Vice /Games Director: Angus Young games@qiba.com.au
Junior Vice / Registrar:   Cameron Hancock registrar@qiba.com.au
Publicity Officer: Vacant publicity@qiba.com.au
Patron: Robin Cruikshank patron@qiba.com.au
Immediate Past President Carmel Blyth

cbl39831@bigpond.net.au

 

Clubs and Association Contacts (Click here)
PLEASE PROVIDE INFORMATION TO games@qiba.com.au TO BE ADDED TO THE CONTACT LIST

History of the QIBA

In 1932, the game of Indoor Bowls in Queensland was controlled by the Darling Downs Indoor Bowls Association with Mr. K.  Garrett  as President.   Approximately 1939 this body became known as the Queensland Indoor Bowling Council. Mr F. H.  Wuth was the first President of the Association, Mr L Postle, as Secretary, &  Miss D Frain, as Treasurer.   The name Council was soon dropped and Association added instead.  It was then known as the Queensland Indoor Bowling Association.

During the war all sporting activities were severely curtailed.  With the conclusion of the war, life returned to normal and Indoor Bowls was again being played and gaining popularity.

A new Queensland Indoor Bowling Association was formed on the 2nd June 1959.  The first Queensland championship was played in May 1960.  The only event played was Rinks.

The Queensland Indoor   Bowling headquarters was originally in Toowoomba but later moved to Balfour Street, New farm, Brisbane,  though the honour boards are still housed at Indoor Bowls Hall at Annand  Street,  Toowoomba.

Queensland introduced their own rules in book form in the late 1960’s.

In 1984 the Association became incorporated.  The headquarters are now the residence of the state secretary.

Over the years the Association has grown in Queensland to 22 associations & 10 clubs.

We have now 3 State Title events, consisting of the May and October Championships with 4 3/4" bowls, and a small bowls championship.  The events are ladies and gents singles open singles, girls and boys singles, junior pairs, ladies and gents pairs, open pairs triples, rinks of four (which were originally rinks of six)

Queensland associated with the Australian Indoor Bias Bowls Association in 1970 & continues to play in National Titles & International Test matches.